The Nigar Awards 2017 nominations have been revealed, and they’re funny!

Supposedly, the oldest and most credible awards for Pakistani Cinema, Nigar Awards are back in business!

The awards which first took place in 1957, were on a long hiatus after the last edition back in 2002, owing to the sad state of Pakistani Cinema. However, seeing the revival of Pakistani Cinema the awards are back on track and the 47th Nigar Awards 2017 are all set to take place in Karachi this March.

We at Galaxy Lollywood were particularly excited for the nominations reveal as we have heard so much about the honesty and credibility of the Nigar Awards and how much it means to win one. But we were rather disappointed after seeing the nomination list that came out today for according to us lots of deserving people have been snubbed and the nomination list is full of some rather interesting names.

Obviously, since we have our own Galaxy Lollywood Awards (Vote here) which we have been conducting for three years where we make the nominations and have the fans vote online for their favorites, we have our preferences and choices when it comes to who should and should not be nominated.

But we would really like to know what you thought of the Nigar Awards nominations. Here is the full list:


Best Film

Actor in Law – The Film (Fizza Ali Mirza/Mehdi Ali)

Ho Mann Jahaan (Sheheryar Munawar, AsimRaza)

Maalik (Ashir Azeem/ Bushra Ashar Azeem)

Mah e Mir (Khurram Rana , Sahir Rasheed, Badar Ikram)

Janaan (Reham Khan, Hareem Farooq, Munir Hussain, Imran Raza Kazmi

Dobara Phir Se (Salman Iqbal, Jerjees Seja, Mehreen Jabbar)


Best Debut Director

Ashir Azeem (Malik)

Asim Raza (Ho Mann Jahan)

Anjum Shehzad (Mah-e-Mir)

Jamal Shah (Revenge Of The Worthless)

Hashim Nadeem (Abdullah)

Ahmed Jamal (Rehm)


Best Director

Nabeel Qureshi (Actor In Law)

Azfar Rizvi (Janaan)

Mehreen Jabbar (Dobara Phir Se)


Best Actor

Fahad Mustafa (Mah-e-Mir)

Fahad Mustafa (Actor In Law)

Mohib Mirza (Bachana)

Yasir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)

Sajid Hassan (Rehm)


Best Actress

Mahira Khan (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Maira Khan (Revenge Of The Worthless)

Mehwish Hayat (Actor In Law)

Saba Qamar (Lahore Say Agay)

Armeena Rana Khan (Janaan)


Best Supporting Actor

Ehteshamudin (Malik)

Manzer Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)

Alyy Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Hameed Shaikh (Abdullah)

Ajab Gull (Salute)


Best Supporting Actress

Saima (Salute)

Sanam Saeed (Dobara Phir Se)

Sonia Jahan (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Mishi Khan (Janaan)

Seerat Jaffri (Rahm)


Best Actor In a Negative Role

Hasan Niyazi (Maalik)

Sheraz Butt (Salute)

Sunil Shankar (Rahm)

Sanam Saeed (Mah-e-Mir)

Amir Qureshi (Blind Love)


Best Debut Actor

Sunil Shankar (Rahm)

Feroz Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Yasir Shah (Blind Love)

Shehryar Munawar (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Adeel Hussain (Ho Mann Jahaan)


Best Debut Actress

Sajjal Ali (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Sanam Saeed (Bachana)

Nimra (Blind Love)

Rabia Butt (Hijrat)


Best Screenplay

Yasir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)

Ashar Azeem (Maalik)

Muhammad Pervez Kalim (Blind Love)

Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law)

Abdul Khaliq Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)


Best Story

Sarmad Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)

Ashar Azeem (Maalik)

Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law)

Asim Raza (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Khaliq Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen hay)


Best Dialogue

Yashir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)

Ashar Azeem (Maalik)

Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law)

Sarmad Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)

Mehmood Jamal (Rahm)


Best Music

Shani Arshad (Actor In Law)

Zaib Bangash,Fakhir,Ehtesham Malik (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Soch Band (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Haniya Aslam & Justin Gray (Dobara Phir Se)

Shiraz Uppal (Lahore Say Agay)


Best Lyricist

Oh Khudaya (Actor In Law)

Lar Gayan (Dobara Phir Se)

Baifikriyan (Lahore Say Agay)

Tootiya Taraa (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Nazaria (Maalik)


Best Singer Male

Atif Aslam – Dil Dancer Hogaya (Actor In Law)

Asrar – Shakarwandan (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Rahat fateh Ali Khan, Oh Khudaya (Actor In Law)

Soch Band – Tootiya Taraa – (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)


Best Female Singer

Aima Baig -Bai Fikriyan-(Lahore Say Agay)

Mai Dhai -Sarak Sarak (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Masooma Anwar – Naina Roye (Maalik)

Zaib Bangash – Dil Pagla (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Natasha Baig – Jhoom Lay (Janaan)


Best Choreographer

Nigah Hussain (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Wahab Shah, Hasan Rizvi (Lahore Say Agay)

James Koroni (Dobara Phir Sey)

Faizan Ehbab (Janaan)

Papur Samrath (Mah-e-Mir)


Best Cinematography

Ali Bukhari (Blind Love)

Adil Askari (Salute)

Rana Kamran (Actor In Law)

Salman Razzaq (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Asrad Khan (Lahore Say Agay)

I might be an Economics graduate from LUMS, but cinema is where my heart truly belongs. Always up for a discussion on fims and I guess you could call me a Pakistani Cinema aficionado. Email:


  1. Shocked Iman Ali is not in the nomination. She doesn’t deserve not the nomination only but also deserves to be a winner. And I’m sure if she is till to be in the nomination of best actress. She would be a winner by higher percentage followed by her other co actresses

  2. Whats funny in this??? I didn’t find any. Btw they should have nominated Hareem Farooq for best actress and Mehreen Jabbar as best director for Dobara phir se.