Nominations for the 16th Annual Lux Style Awards are out!

It just feels like yesterday when Ali Zafar gave one of the most memorable opening performances ever for an award show, when Sohai Ali Abro danced like there’s no tomorrow and when Mahira won quite a few awards. Yes, that was last year at the 15th annual Lux Style Awards and now, exactly a year later, the awards are back with a bang and just announced the nominations for their 16th edition.

Nominees for LSA 2017 were announced in 28 categories in  Film, Fashion, Music and TV. Talking about the film section we feel that the nominations are pretty fair and almost every nominee deserved the nomination. But we do feel that there have been some major snubs:

  1. No Hareem Farooq in Best Actress! That’s blasphemy we say.
  2. Hameed Sheikh for Abdullah and Adeel Hussain for Dobara Phir Say should have been there in Best Actor.
  3. Nasir Khan definitely deserves a Best Director Nomination!
  4. No Rahat, No Sukhwinder? The male singer category is a mess.

Here check out the complete list and decide for yourself:


Best Film

Actor in Law
Dobara Phir Se
Ho Mann Jahaan

Best Film Actress

Mahira Khan for Ho Mann Jahaan
Mehwish Hayat for Actor in Law
Sabar Qamar for Lahore Se Aagey
Sajal Ali for Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hai
Sanam Saeed for Bachaana

Best Film Actor

Ashar Azeem for Maalik
Fahad Mustafa for Actor in Law
Fahad Mustafa for Mah-e-Mir
Mohib Mirza for Bachaana
Yasir Hussain for Lahore Se Aagey

Best Film Director

Anjum Shehzad for Mah-e-Mir
Asim Raza for Ho Mann Jahaan
Azfar Jafri for Janaan
Mehreen Jabbar for Dobara Phir Se
Nabeel Qureshi for Actor in Law
Wajahat Rauf for Lahore Se Aagey

Best Supporting Actress

Hania Aamir for Janaan
Saboor Ali for Actor in Law
Sanam Saeed for Dobara Phir Se
Sonya Jehan for Ho Mann Jahaan
Tooba Siddiqui for Dobara Phir Se

Best Supporting Actor

Ali Kazmi for Dobara Phir Se
Ali Rehman Khan for Janaan
Manzar Sehbhai for Mah-e-Mir
Om Puri for Actor in Law
Shehryar Munawar for Ho Mann Jahaan

Best Singer (Male) – Film

Arman Malik for Janaan Title Track (Janaan)
Asrar for Funkaran (Actor in Law)
Atif Aslam for Dil Dancer (Actor in Law)
Rajab Ali for Yeh Dhuan (Mah-e-Mir)
Shafqat Amanat Ali for Piya Dekhan Ko (Mah-e-Mir)

Best Singer (Female) – Film

Aima Baig for Kalabaaz Dil (Lahore se Aagey)
Haniya Aslam for Dobara Phir Se (Dobara Phir Se)
Masooma Anwer for Naina Roye (Maalik)
Shreya Ghoshal for Janaan Title Track (Janaan)
Zeb Bangash for Dil Pagla (Ho Maan Jahaan)


Best TV Play

Besharam on ARY Digital
Dillagi on ARY Digital
Mann Mayal on Hum TV
Mein Sitara on TV One
Udaari on Hum TV

Best TV Actor

Ahsan Khan for Udaari
Faisal Qureshi for Bheegi Palkien
Humayun Saeed for Dillagi
Noman Ejaz for Dampukth
Zahid Ahmed for Besharam

Best TV Actress

Maya Ali for Mann Mayal
Mehwish Hayat for Dillagi
Saba Qamar for Besharam
Saba Qamar for Mein Sitara
Sajal Ali for Gul-e-Rana

Best TV Director

Ehtishaamuddin for Udaari
Farooq Rind for Besharam
Haseeb Hasan for Mann Mayal
Kashif Nisar for Dampukth
Nadeem Baig for Dillagi

Best TV Writer

Faiza Iftikhar for Dillagi
Farhat Ishtiaq for Udaari
Sameera Fazal for Mann Mayal
Sarwat Nazeer for Besharam
Zafar Mairai for Dampukth

Best Original Sound Track

Sun Yara by Damia Farooq (ARY Digital) (Producer: Six Sigma Productions)
Udaari by Hadiqa Kiyani (HUM TV) (Producer: Momina Duraid, Haisaam Hussain and Shahzad Kashmiri)
Hatheli by Nabeel Shaukat (HUM TV) (Producer: Moomal Shunaid, Moomal Entertainment)
Mann Mayal by Quratulain Baloch (HUM TV) (Producer: Momina Duraid, Samina Humayun Saeed, Tariq Shah, Sana Shahnawaz)
Yeh Ishq by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (ARY Digital) (Producer: Big Bang Productions)


Album of the Year

Book of Sibt by Sibti
Indus Raag 2 by Shareef Awan
Na Bhulana by Uzair Jaswal
Peheli by Mooro
You by The Sketches

Song of the Year

Baarish by Tonight Us and Jimmy Khan
Haiyyah from The Book of Sibt by Sibti
Khak Nasheen by Chand Tara Orchestra
Khaki Banda by Umair Jaswal and Ahmed Jahanzeb
Saaiyan by Quratulain Baloch

Best Music Video Director

Abdullah Haris for Sag-e-Ali by Asrar
Aisha Linea Akhtar & Shahbaz Shigri for Le Chaloon by Salman Shaukat
Kamal Khan for Ho Jao Azad by Zoe Viccaji
Kamal Khan for The Desert Journey by D/A Method
Shahab Qamar for Hero by Naseer & Shahab

Best Emerging Talent

Basit Ali for Vocals in Anokha Ladla
Bilal Nasir Khan (Rudoh) for Tales for Scrap
Hamza Akram Qawwal for Khuddi
Natasha Baig for Janaan
Shehroz Hussain for Sitaar in Anokha Ladla


Model of the Year (Female)

Amna Babar
Anam Malik
Rabia Butt
Sadaf Kanwal
Zara Abid

Model of the Year (Male)

Aimal Khan
Hasnain Lehri
Shahzad Noor
Waleed Khalid

Best Fashion Photographer

Abdullah Haris
Ali Hasan
Guddu Shani
Nadir Feroz Khan & Maha Burney at NFK Photography
Shahbaz Shazi

Best Hair and Make-up Artist

Natasha Khalid
Omayr Waqar
Saima Rashid Bargfred
Shammal Qureshi
Shazia Rashid

Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret

Coco by Zara Shahjahan
Sana Safinaz

Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret

Sana Safinaz
Sania Maskatiya
Shamaeel Ansari
Shehla Chatoor

Achievement in Fashion Design – Bridal

Ali Xeeshan
Faraz Manan
The House of Kamiar Rokni

Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn

Faraz Manan
Sana Safinaz
Shehla Chatoor
Zara Shahjahan

Best Menswear Designer

Ahmed Bham
Amir Adnan
Hassan Sheheryar Yasin
Ismail Farid
Nauman Arfeen

Best Emerging Talent

Aashna Khan – Photographer
Giti Ara – Model
Hira Shah – Model
Imaan Madani – Model
The Pink Tree Company – Designer


The 16th annual Lux Style Awards for Fashion, Film, Music and TV will be held later in April. Viewer’s choice voting to select winners will be open online for several of the entertainment categories. The awards will be broadcast on national television soon thereafter.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here